Happy New Year!

I took this picture 1 year ago today: Bald eagle in flightIt’s probably hard to see the details, but it’s a bald eagle in flight. I drove down to the Mississippi River from my apartment in Davenport and took as long of a walk as I could manage. The biting wind caused my eyes to tear. One tear caught on the lens of my glasses and froze. Yes, *froze*. But I caught this picture of a majestic bird, and I took comfort in it. I knew 2011 was going to be a very stressful year for me. My job was expected to go away at the end of June (it did), and I was working my butt off to secure a new position before then (I didn’t). I spent the next 5 months surviving on a less-than-part-time job, some self-employment income, unemployment, and the kindness of family. Eventually, I did land a new job and it took me halfway across the country right after Thanksgiving. It’s a job which will allow me to grow in a specialty of my profession that I’ve been working on targeting for some time, it’s in a location that I’ve enjoyed visiting for over 20 years, and I’m lucky to have supportive and friendly co-workers. In 2011, I was also afforded a great many professional development opportunities that I cannot even begin to thank those responsible. The catalyst for those opportunities was Heather McCormack, so please accept my thanks here as a small portion of all that I owe you.

In the last year, I’ve gained two cousins-in-law, four of the next generation of cousins were born, and my brother and sister-in-law welcomed my niece into the family in the last two weeks of the year. I’m at least as healthy as I was this time last year (and probably a wee bit healthier), I’m working in a secure job once more, and I was granted the opportunity to witness what a loving and generous community of friends I’ve built up over the years. I was very sad to leave my friends in the Quad Cities area, but I look forward to them visiting me here and going back there to visit when I can.

I am hopeful that 2012 will be as generous with me in my personal life as 2011 was in my professional life. To start a new personal tradition of welcoming in the new year (because it’s doing something for the second time that starts the tradition), I went for a walk along a nearby body of water. This year’s body was the Chesapeake Bay, and since the spot I chose had a beach, I even got to dip my hand into the water.

Chesapeake Bay. Looking at the William Preston Lane, Jr. Memorial Bay Bridge from the Terrapin Beach Park.

Happy New Year!

This entry was posted in general life and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

