Goodale Cardigan – WIP

I’m trying to remember how I first found out about this pattern. I’m sure it was either through someone mentioning it on Twitter, or a bunch of my friends sticking it in their queue on Ravelry. Either way, the Goodale cardigan was brought to my attention. I was intrigued by the design as it appeared it would complement my body shape. The pattern would challenge my knitting skills, and I adored the color of the yarn used. Then I got a look at the price of the yarn. If you’ve been reading the blog, you’ve probably noticed I’m far from being your average-sized woman, let alone one of model waifness. I am sure the yarn is very nice, but just factoring in the materials (let alone the time to make it!), the project would have cost me at least $90 ($120 if I bought a security skein) to make. I understand that since I need to wear larger sized clothes, I’m going to have to pay more for the materials needed to make them. $100 was not in my budget for a cardigan. I did some looking around and came up with BMFA’s Woobu. I love it. The colorways (mine is Korppi), the pricing ($60 for two skeins which would have enough yarn to make even the largest size in the pattern), and what has ended up being some of the most pleasurable wool yarn I’ve worked with in my knitting life. I’m probably around 60%, if not a little more, done with the pattern, and I can’t wait to take it off of the needles. I’m even considering making it again, but this time in the yarn called for. I took these pictures a couple of weeks ago. I tried to do it in the best light, but still can’t quite capture the beauty of the yarn.

Picture of an in-process knitted objectClose of up picture of an in-process knitted object, showing off individual stitches

This entry was posted in knitting and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

