100 Days

There is little to no consensus on how much time it takes to form new habits. I was out to dinner last night with a good friend, and she and another friend are doing a 100 day challenge where they work out every day. My friend’s other friend had heard about it on some running list/website/email/whathaveyou. As I’ve never been able to cultivate a consistent exercise habit, I thought this was a great idea. I’m taking it one step further. There’s this series of core exercises I did for about a week or two and then stopped. My core muscles are the ones that I’ve always need the most help with as I have a history of back problems. I currently don’t have any recurring issues, but strengthening my core is always a good goal. Here’s the plan: for every day I do the core exercises, I will pay myself $1. I can’t take any money out of the jar, I can only put it in. After the 100 days, any money I have saved will be put toward a new Blu-Ray player. I’ve been wanting one for almost the last year since both of my DVD players saw fit to die within a 24 hour period. A few months ago, I ended up with these two big plastic jugs after cleaning up from a catered program my office did. I’ve been using one as a new change jar. The other one is going to be dedicated to the 100 Days project. As an added goose, I decorated both of them, and will be leaving the 100 Days one on my coffee table so I see it every time I’m in my living room. I’m also not waiting until tomorrow to start this. As one of my friends said on Twitter this week (basically): Why wait until the new year if you already know you want to start a new good habit? So, pics of the jars:

This entry was posted in general life and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to 100 Days

  1. Pingback: Fitness blog | Katie's Crafting Life

  2. Pingback: Getting fit | Getting Fit in 2011

  3. This is a great challenge!! And talk about a positive goal – a blu-ray player, you can’t go wrong 🙂 Keep up the good work. I know it can be struggle to get back on the workout horse, but solidarity sister! I’m trying to fight that battle too, esp with my back issues as well.
    ~Megan

Leave a Reply

