No, I haven’t drunk the Flavor-Aid

And yes, it was Flavor-Aid and not Kool-Aid. I bought this over my lunch break:

My initial impression is that it's very slick and user-friendly. Of course, I did pay for the Geek Squad to do the optimized initialization, or whatever the heck it is they do, for me.

Some things to get used to:

  • The hard edge where my wrists land – I may need to look into some kind of thin support for this.
  • The lack of the "home" and "end" buttons – I've gotten very used to incorporating those into my keystrokes.
  • The working window doesn't take up the whole screen – I think I remember this being the case when I used Macs in college, but it's been long enough ago, I can't swear to it.
  • Using CMD instead of CTRL, especially as there's a "control" button on the keyboard.

Other than that, it's been nice in it's first hour of use.

Read and post comments | Send to a friend

This entry was posted in Uncategorized, vox and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to No, I haven’t drunk the Flavor-Aid

  1. Oooh, pretty!!I'm still leaning towards an iMac when that inevitable day comes when I purchase a new computer.

  2. YAY! Welcome to the light. LOLOL. I LOVE my mac and I'll never go PC again. LOL. And there's a book out there by David Pogue called "Switching to Mac" and it was an invaluable resource when I got my first Mac. It told me if I was used to finding something HERE in PC, it's now THERE on a Mac. Or THIS keystroke combination is now THAT keystroke combination.
    If you need any help, I'm just an IM/Email away (provided my damn internet service is working…which it was NOT last night).

  3. bookishbiker says:

    ooooh it's so shiny! I'd be curious to read why you switched over, and if you have any lingering problems post-change. and that sort of stuff. also, I want to pick your brains re: Ireland.. I'll be emailing you at gmail, so hopefully that address still works!

  4. I mainly switched because I've played around with Vista enough to know it would annoy me that I couldn't do certain tasks (mainly networking related) that I'm used to being able to do in XP, and I didn't want to pay for an XP downgrade. I figure with the Mac OS, it's completely new to me, so I'm not going to be as itchy about wanting to do something and not being able to. There is another drawback to the display that I figured out after playing with it for a little longer after this post: the native display resolution makes the standard type way too small and you can't really do anything to change it. Changing the screen resolution only makes the font even fuzzier. The glass screen, and auto-adjusting of brightness to ambient conditions didn't help either. Luckily, I had a pair of glasses from one prescription ago that were intended for heavy computer use, but I never wore them because they didn't work well with consistently having to stop using the computer to help with patrons. They alleviated some of the issue with regards to the glass screen and fixed small font size & fuzziness, and I upped the standard font size display, as well as manually upping the brightness whenever I could. After the first couple of hours of play with my regular glasses, I was getting an eye strain headache. I took a rest period for dinner, then dug out this other pair of glasses and worked on it for another couple of hours or so and didn't have any residual eye strain.

  5. Ooh, pretty. I hope someday I too can spend too much money on an Apple. So after more than an hour on it, how has it been?

  6. I like it. I'm still getting used to the Mac OS and I haven't had time to put it through its paces for the main reasons I got it: writing and travel. Well, some writing, but not a whole lot.

Leave a Reply

