Yarn in 2008 – June

Honestly, if it weren't for my trip to California and my visits with the Guppy, I would have had my lowest money spent on yarn month next to the one where I didn't spend any at all.  However, the purpose of visits to yarn stores on road trips is to pick up yarn that you don't regularly see in your neck of the woods.

Number of yarn transactions: 5

Locations where yarn was purchased:
The Yarn Shoppe – Davenport, IA
Alamitos Bay Yarn Company – Long Beach, CA
A Mano Yarn Center – Los Angeles, CA

Number of skeins purchased: 35
Range of price per skein: $1.48 to $44.25
Range of total prices: $24.26 to $112.15
Total: $271.90
Average price per skein: $7.77

Yarn purchased:
Plymouth Yarns Suri Merino (burgundy) – For use with Crystal Palace Fling (in Berry) for a shawl.
Crystal Palace Fling (berry) – For use with Suri Merino for a shawl.
Crystal Palace Party (lacquer) – Have no clue what I'll use it for.  It's a bright red and it was on sale.  Plus, the only ball left.
Crystal Palace Party (lilac) – Additional ball for previously mentioned "Sam's Scarf"
Crystal Palace Glam (purple-silver) – See previous.
Crystal Palace Glam (lapis-violet) – No clue again.  Liked the color, on sale and only ball left.
Rowan Summer Tweed (spring green) – I think I'm going to do the Aileen Celtic Cable Purse (Ravel It) with it.
Stacy Charles Ritratto (red rainbow) – Picked a ball up to (kind of) match another ball in the same colorway I had bought last year.  Will probably do a lacy scarf with the two now.
Classic Elite Yarns Provence (pure peri) – No clue.  Loved the color.  All cotton.  Maybe a bag?
Lana Knits Hemp for Knitting (grass green) – Again no clue.  Liked the color and wanted to try some hemp.
Blue Heron Yarns Rayon Metallic (deep space) – No clue yet again. Loved the color name and the yardage was great considering the price.
Malabrigo Worsted (seleccion privada o) – I think I'm going to use this to make a shawl I saw at knit group last night.  Yardage should be about perfect. Plus, the colorway really caught my eye.
Kraemer Yarns Fountain Hills Brushed Mohair – No clue, but probably a shawl or afghan thanks to the yardage.  And man, was the yardage *abso-fabulous* for the price.
Kollage Yarns Cornucopia – (chorus) No clue.  Liked the color and the material (corn) was not something I'd seen much of before.

Ravelry contribution to date: $10.29 (This breaks the $10 minimum threshold I set for this year's Ravelry donation)

Read and post comments | Send to a friend

This entry was posted in Uncategorized, vox and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Yarn in 2008 – June

  1. Glad I could help! *snicker*

Leave a Reply

