Guess what the rubber ball was

I've long talked about managing my life by knowing what the rubber balls are.  Blogging in general became a big, fat, red rubber ball.  So, what have I been up to in the last month?  I've been doing *lots* of reading.  I really enjoy being on the awards committee, but it's been a lot of work reading all of the books I've suggested.  Let's not even talk about all the books that have already been nominated and I need to get on the stick reading. 

Since I last posted, I've finished 9 1/2 books, finished (today) the ring pillow for my brother and soon-to-be sister-in-law, had a nasty cold, been to a state library conference, shifted my personal book collection, and drove home three weekends in a row.  Oh, and worked at the part-time job a couple of nights, in addition to the day job.  With all of that, and a few other things, I didn't have any time to blog.  I did think about writing…lots of times.  Then, I realized I still had a huge list of things to do.

Things still on my list of to-dos when I'm not at the day job, aka why I'll probably be gone for a while again:

  • Read three more committee books on my "suggested" list, along with a few others I'm thinking about suggesting.
  • Read the committee nominated books I haven't already read…the current count is eight
  • Write essay on why I should be awarded a travel grant for ALA Annual conference by end of this month
  • Write two short novellas for sekrit identity
  • Finish knitting shawl by brother's wedding
  • Prep for brother's wedding
  • Go to brother's wedding
  • Recover from brother's wedding
  • Work at part-time job

Seriously, I'm beginning to wonder how I get everything done I need to get done.

Read and post comments | Send to a friend

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Guess what the rubber ball was

  1. Mama Hughes says:

    Made me tired just reading it! Seriously, you gotta have travel funds.

  2. LOL! What makes it even harder is that I forgot to add I also have to write up two presentation proposals, which are due at the end of the month, for another conference I want to go to next summer. If it wasn't for the fact potential funding depended on them, I'd totally let them fall by the wayside 🙂

Leave a Reply

