Blech

I feel like doing nothing.  Absolutely nothing.  Which is greatly annoying because I've got a lot of things that not only I *could* be doing, but things I *should* be doing.

I just went through some of my trade paperbacks looking for books I know I don't want that I can send to a friend whose husband recently lost his job.  She had originally asked me to set aside some from the pile I'm giving away at an event she can't attend and was going to reimburse me for shipping.  About two weeks after her original request, she wrote to say "forget about it" because of the job loss.  I know how stressful it is to be out of work, and I want to do something to make her smile, so she'll be getting a surprise package from me once I get her address from one of our mutual friends.

While I was rooting through the books, I realized I had a few that I had not read, and knew I wasn't going to read, and they still had their Borders' price stickers on them.  As I treat my books very well, they are going back to my local Borders along with the book I ended up getting a duplicate, but signed, copy of a couple of weeks ago.  As I know I'll be getting the refund in the form of store credit, I was thinking of what I wanted to purchase with it.  There are two non-fiction books I've been meaning to read for the last couple of years.  As I'm a *slow* reader with non-fiction, I've decided to get them if available as trade paperbacks.  You can tell I've had some classes where I needed to learn epidemiology definitions as I originally looked up one of the titles as "The Great Morbidity".  Anyway, here are the books I'm planning on buying once I get paid on Thursday:

Witch Fire Everything Is Miscellaneous: The Power of the New Digital Disorder The Great Influenza: The story of the deadliest pandemic in history The Great Mortality: An Intimate History of the Black Death, the Most Devastating Plague of All Time

Read and post comments | Send to a friend

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Blech

  1. If it's not too late…skip the Barry book about the Flu pandemic. I usually love books like that, but Barry's book…Ugh. Very poorly written. And every now and again when he actually starts writing interesting material in an interesting way…he quickly abandons that plan and scurries back to rambling endlessly. I got about 2/3 of the way through and had to give up.

Leave a Reply

