Reading update

Sparkles
Louise Bagshawe

It's been a while since I've actually finished a book, let alone one that doesn't immediately go into the private stash.  I'm exploring books outside of my normal romance reading for my committee appointment.  I'm not sure how I feel about this book.  I finished it in less than 24 hours, so always a plus, and I was entertained but I'm not sure if some things wouldn't have bothered me as much if I wasn't also evaluating it in mind for the committee.  The biggest problem I had with it was that the timing of the story felt very choppy.  If I remember one of the quotes from the book correctly, Bagshawe is called "Britain's answer to Jackie Collins."  I'd definitely agree with that as it's the same type of story, but I liked the story a lot more than I imagine I would have liked a Collins story.  One other issue I had was that a lot of things could have been cleared up earlier if the characters had only been open and honest with each other.  At the same time, however, Bagshawe handled it in a way where the reader knew why the character was making the decision he or she made.  And the reason's weren't as petty as in other stories I've read.  My ultimate compliment for a non-romance author: I will definitely look for other books by Bagshawe to read.

Read and post comments | Send to a friend

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

